Presidential Search

Update from the Board:

The comprehensive President search, informed throughout by the Saint Xavier Community, has concluded.  I am pleased to announce that the Saint Xavier High School Board of Directors has appointed the school’s third President – Paul D. Colistra

Paul is the President of West Catholic Preparatory High School, a thriving inner-city high school in Philadelphia operated by the Brothers of Christian Schools – De La Salle Brothers.  Paul was instrumental in leading the total transformation of West Catholic Prep from a struggling school with declining enrollment to a vibrant and growing academic institution that is recognized for its academic rigor, its financial support of students, and the diversity of its faculty, staff, and student body.  Prior to joining West Catholic Prep, Paul served successfully in various advancement positions at La Salle College High School, a premier Catholic independent, college preparatory high school located in Philadelphia and sponsored by the Christian Brothers.

Paul is committed to the Mission and Vision of Saint Xavier, and understands the importance of the traditions of St. X.  The St. X Board is confident that Paul possesses the vision, experience, and apostolic leadership, and will support the dedicated administrators, faculty and staff of the school, qualities recognized in the Position Description of the President.

Paul also understands and is committed to the core principles that have guided Saint Xavier and its leadership throughout its 155-year history - Catholic identity, the Xaverian Charism and values, and academic excellence.  Having attended, and spent his entire career in Christian Brothers schools, Paul is engrained with the Lasallian Charism and knows that a school with charism, a unique identity that separates it from the rest, delivers the spirit that makes a school special.

Paul will begin his tenure as President of Saint Xavier on July 1, 2020.  Although no plans have been finalized, I anticipate that Paul and his family will be in Louisville and on our campus this spring to learn and listen from members of our Community.

The Senior Leadership Team of the school – Frank Espinosa, Larry Bergamini, and Mike Littell – will continue to serve as the executive leadership for the School through June 30.  Frank, in his additional role as Chief Operating Officer, Larry, and Mike have done an outstanding job leading St. X during this transition period, and I am deeply grateful to each of them for shouldering outsized roles since May 2019.  They will provide great insight, advice, and support to Paul in their ongoing roles as Principal, Chief Financial Officer, and Vice President for Advancement at the school.  

I also want to recognize the members of the President Search Committee, and in particular Chair (and Board Vice Chair) Teresa Riggs.  Through their work in evaluating many qualified candidates, and refining that group to our finalist candidates, they have served Saint Xavier with distinction.  The administration, faculty, staff, students, Xaverian Brothers, alumni, current parents of students, and friends of Saint Xavier who participated in meetings with the finalist candidates, and provided valuable feedback and observations to the Board, were essential to the search process.

I am grateful to each of you for your role and interest in the process of selecting the President.  This is an important moment in the history of Saint Xavier.  Together with Paul, we will continue to shape the future of this great school through which we are all connected.

search firm

Robert Regan

Senior Search Consultant

Barbara Daush

Senior Consultant

search committee

Teresa Riggs – Search Committee Chair, Board Vice Chair

Paul Humphrey '01 - Advisor to the Board, Parent of current student; Commander, Louisville Metro Police Department

John McCarthy '86 - Board Member

Dan McCue, M. Ed. - Faculty; Department Chair, Science

Theresa Neichter, M.A.T. - Faculty; Department Chair, Science

David Hardy '83 - Board Member

Patrick Slattery. Ed. D - Executive Director, Xaverian Brothers Sponsored Schools

Kevin Smith '71 - Board Chair

Margy Thomas - Advisor to the Board; former Board Member; former Member, Xaverian Brothers Sponsored Schools

Paul Varga '81 - Board Member