Ryken Award Recipient Named

Ryken Award Recipient Named

St. X honors Theology teacher with Theodore James Ryken Award

Saint Xavier High School proudly announces the 2020 Ryken Award recipient is Mrs. Rosanna Vessels. 

Rosanna is a Theology teacher and Instruction Technology Resource for our school community.  She is a person who shares her faith through teaching and liturgical music. One colleague who nominated her said, "Rosanna’s enduring commitment to the technological success of her fellow faculty members and tireless dedication to the well-being of her students are excellent examples of the Xaverian values in action."

Named after the founder of the Xaverian Brothers, the Ryken Award is given annually to a St. X faculty or staff member who dedicates his or her life to furthering the mission of a Xaverian education.

Faculty and staff nominate colleagues for their commitment to proclaim the Gospel, participate in the school’s community of faith, and nurture members of the community. Nominees also demonstrate a commitment to academic excellence and model ways of recognizing the talents of individuals. They must be committed to educating the whole person and leading others to fulfill the Gospel's call to peace and justice.

Follow the school's social media channels: @StXTigers on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Pictured left to right: President Paul Colistra, Rosanna Vessels, and Principal Amy Sample