Outstanding Alumnus


2018 Recipient - Thomas P. Borders '61

The Outstanding Alumnus Award was established by the Saint Xavier Alumni Association in 1967. Its purpose is to honor annually a graduate (or graduates) who, on a regional, national, or international level, through achievements in his profession or work, has made a significant contribution to the betterment of his fellow man and, in doing so, has brought credit to himself, to his associates and to Saint Xavier High School

Thomas P. Borders graduated from Saint Xavier High School in 1961, when the campus was located in downtown Louisville at the corner of 2ndStreet and Broadway. While at St. X, Tom was a class officer, a member of the National Honor Society, co-captain of the Tiger Football team, and a scholar athlete graduating among the best students in the class. After St. X, he obtained his bachelor’s degree from the University of Notre Dame and his master’s degree from the University of Michigan. Both degrees were in English.

In 1971, Tom co-founded Borders Book Shop with his brother, Louis, and served as Chief Executive Officer. The Borders brothers opened their first “superstore” in 1985 and added a wholesale business known as BIS (Book Inventory Systems), which became the inventory supplier for Louisville-fan-favorite Hawley-Cooke Booksellers. By the early 1990s, Borders Books was a household name in the Midwest, and many considered it the premier superstore chain of the decade. Sales topped out at $100 million, and the company was sold in 1992. Prior to starting the business, Tom taught English at Bellarmine College.

Tom is currently President of Midtown Group in Austin, Texas. He is a founding member of the Bank of Ann Arbor in Michigan and has served on its board since 1996. He has been a member of the Harry Ransom Center (the University of Texas at Austin) Advisory Council for 18 years and is the former chairman. Tom is also a member of the Tapestry Foundation’s board of directors.

Tom becomes the third member of the St. X Class of 1961 to be named an Outstanding Alumnus, joining William T. Heavrin and Raymond J. Weis. He also holds the honor of being a member of the St. X Alumni Hall of Honors. Tom is the oldest of four brothers who attended St. X. In addition to Louis, a member of the St. X Class of 1966, Daniel and Christopher graduated in 1969 and 1972, respectively.

Tom and his wife, Carmel, a Sacred Heart graduate, reside in Austin, Texas. They have three children and seven grandchildren.

Roster of Saint Xavier Outstanding Alumni

1967 William J. O'Sullivan '33
1968 Frank J. Beard '57
Robert H. Nichols '54
1969 Dr. James E. LaFollette '40
1972 William P. Kelly, Sr. '10
1973 George M. Goetz '29
1974 Brother Conrad Callahan, C.F.X. '38
1975 Frank W. Burke '38
1976 Msgr. Raymond J. Treece '30
1977 John B. Voor '42
1978 Cletus A. Ratterman '38
1979 Dr. George F. Dwyer, Jr. '44
1980 Arthur J. Deindoerfer '23
1981 Brother Cornelius E. Hubbuch, Jr., C.F.X. '54
1982 John L. Hoeck '44
1983 Hon. Romano L. Mazzoli '50
1984 Rev. John J. O'Callaghan, S.J. '49
1985 Thomas O. Eifler, Sr. '60
1986 Brother John Heckel, S.V.D. '49
1987 Emil J. Raque, Jr. '53
1988 William T. Heavrin '61
1989 Michael A. Dorris '63
1990 Rev. Clyde F. Crews '62
1991 B. Leo Burmester '62
1992 Eugene C. Ulrich '56
1993 Robert A. Edwards '65
1994 James F. McDonald '58
1995 Bernard A. Crimmins '38
Michael H. Holland '65
1996 Louis A. "Lew" Miller '35
1997 T. O. "Jack" Hall '49
1998 Paul B. Browne '65
1999 Dr. Orest Hurko '66
2000 Paul R. Charron '60
2001 Brother George Willenbrink, C.F.X. '44
2002 Harry J. Rothgerber '65
2003 Thompson M. Faller, Ph.D. '56
2004 James W. Stuckert '55
2005 Raymond J. Weis '61
2006 C. Eugene Steuerle, Ph.D. '64
2008 Walter D. Gahm, Jr. '63
2009 Joseph P. Viviano '55

2010 Nicholas X. Simon ’77

2011 Thomas A. Musselman, Sr. ’54

2012 Paul C. Varga '81

2013 Robert L. Jones, Jr. '76

2014 Dr. John J. Guarnaschelli '59

2015 W. Kip Viscusi, Ph.D. '67

2016 Dr. William J. Godfrey III '55

2017 Albert C. Horton '62

2018 Thomas P. Borders '61