Lacrosse - Varsity

Saint Xavier High School

Varsity Lacrosse Team


Athletics Event

Team Opponent Date Time Location Details Result Score Alerts
There are no events to display


Athletics Roster

Coach Info

Scott Howe – Head Lacrosse Coach

Scott Howe, who begins his 18th season as the head lacrosse coach at Saint Xavier, has spent his entire life involved with the sport. Scott played an integral role in the introduction of lacrosse to the state of Kentucky and was a founding member of the local US Lacrosse chapter. He grew up in Baltimore, Md., where he played high school lacrosse for Gilman School. Scott played collegiate lacrosse at the University of Virginia, where he was a four-year starter and letterman, as well as a member of the 1972 NCAA Division 1 National Champions.

Scott, who organized and coached the first boy’s high school team in the state of Kentucky, has coached Saint Xavier to 11 state championships and reached the championship game in 16 of his 17 seasons as the head coach. In addition to his coaching duties at Saint Xavier, Scott served as the US Lacrosse High School Boy’s Area Chairman for Kentucky for 10 years. In 2009 he coached the West Team in the US Lacrosse National Senior Showcase Games in Providence, R.I. In the off-season he leads and coaches the Team Stickhead travel-team program, which competes in top-notch tournaments throughout the country. He has coached nine first-team high school All-Americans, and many of his players have continued to play the sport at the Division 1,2 and 3 levels.

When he is not on the field, Scott is a full-time commercial real estate broker and co-owner of the retail chain Stickhead Lacrosse & Sports. He and his wife, Susan, are the proud parents of former Tigers Scott Jr. ’01 and Stewart ’02

Assistant Coaches:

Al Schwartz

Justin Sage

Coaches (L-R): Al Schwartz, Head Coach Scott Howe, James Frank, Justin Sage

Fast Facts

Lacrosse Through the Years

  • In 2001 the first all St. X team went 10-4 on the season and defeated the Cherokee Club Team in the first Kentucky Lacrosse Association State Championship at E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park.
  • The 2002 Tigers finished the season with a 12-5 record and returned to the championship game where they defeated Trinity 6-5 to win back-to-back state titles. This was the first Lacrosse Championship game played on campus.
  • In 2003, the Tigers completed a third consecutive championship season as they defeated Ballard 12-4 in the title game. The Tigers upgraded their schedule and began their annual trip to Virginia to play nationally ranked opponents. Cole Sigmon ’03 set a record for individual goals in a single season with 73.
  • The 2004 Tigers completed a 12-9 season and lost for the first time in the state championship game, falling 9-5 to Trinity. Peter Beyel ’04 was the school's first All-American.
  • Kevin Gleis ’05 was named All-American in 2005 and led the squad to its fifth consecutive state championship game. For the second time, the Tigers came up one victory short of the title, falling 9-3 to Trinity.
  • With a 15-3 record, the 2008 squad earned another shot at the state title. In an impressive performance in the championship game, the Tigers defeated Lexington Catholic 11-2. Chase Carraro ’09 earned recognition as Kentucky's first-ever underclassman to be named All-American.
  • The Tigers returned to the finals in 2009 and defeated Louisville Collegiate 10-9. Chase Carraro repeated as an All-American. The Tigers' first two-time All-American continued his play at the University of Denver where he eventually led his team to the NCAA Division I Tournament and two Final Four appearances.
  • In 2010, St. X completed the school's second three-peat by defeating Trinity 8-6 in the championship game. Peter Murphy ’10 was selected as an All-American and broke the single-season individual-scoring record with 90 points (40 goals and 50 assists).
  • The Tigers won their fourth consecutive Kentucky Lacrosse State Championship in 2011, defeating Trinity 9-5. The team was led by All-American Bobby Schmitt ’11 who set a ground balls record of 93.
  • In 2012, the team captured its fifth consecutive title, defeating Trinity 8-7 in OT for the thrilling victory and earning "one for the thumb." The Tigers were led by Zayne SmitH ’13, who became the second Saint Xavier player to be named All-American as a junior.
  • The Tigers, led by All-Americans Zayne Smith and Brad Schickel ’13, reached the finals in 2013 once again, but fell short 8-5 to Trinity in the title game. This marked the 12th title appearance in 13 seasons of Saint Xavier Lacrosse.
  • In 2014 the Tigers reached the championship game for the 13th time in 14 seasons. After coming up short in 2013, they brought the championship home to Saint Xavier, defeating Trinity 10-6. This was the ninth Kentucky State Lacrosse Championship title and the sixth in a seven-year span for the Tigers.
  • In 2015 the Tigers completed a back-to-back campaign that resulted in the school's 10th Kentucky State Lacrosse Championship. Collin Roppel ’15 and Max Cartor ’15 were selected as US Lacrosse All-Americans and Coach Scott Howe was voted Coach of the Year and inducted into the Kentucky Lacrosse Association Hall of Fame.
  • The 2016 Tigers won their last six games which culminated in the championship game against rival Trinity, winning 10-9 to post the 11th state championship for the lacrosse program and eight out of the last nine Kentucky State Lacrosse Championships. Joey Mackin ’17 was named Most Voluble Player of the state tournament. He was joined by Caleb Grimes ’16, John Mueller ’16 and Jake Zickel ’17 on the All-State team.
  • In 2018, the Tiger Lacrosse team claimed the program’s 12thstate championship by defeating Trinity 12-4. It was the ninth title in the past 11 years. Noah Mackin ’18 was named Most Valuable Player, and the Tigers finished the season ranked number one in the state of Kentucky and 43rd nationally.