Outstanding Alumnus Award

2016 Recipient - Dr. William J. Godfrey III '55

The Outstanding Alumnus Award was established by the Saint Xavier Alumni Association in 1967. Its purpose is to honor annually a graduate (or graduates) who, on a regional, national, or international level, through achievements in his profession or work, has made a significant contribution to the betterment of his fellow man and, in doing so, has brought credit to himself, to his associates and to Saint Xavier High School

Throughout his life, Dr. William Godfrey has dedicated himself to his faith, his family, and the betterment of his community. Voted “most likely to succeed” by his high school classmates, he has lived up to the expectations set forth by the Saint Xavier Class of 1955.  Following graduation from Saint Xavier, Bill received a bachelor’s degree from St. Mary’s Seminary and continued his studies at Bellarmine College, where he earned a degree in 1962. Bill then enrolled at the University of Louisville’s School of Medicine. After graduation in 1966, he spent several years in medical internship and residency before joining the U.S. Navy.  He eventually served as Chief of Medicine at Beaufort Naval Hospital.  In 1973, following his military duty, Bill and his wife Joyce settled in Elizabethtown, Kentucky, where he opened an internal medicine practice which he operates to this day.

As a medical professional, Dr. Godfrey has demonstrated a wholehearted commitment to the well-being of his neighbors. He has served as a physician at Hardin Memorial Hospital for more than 40 years and practiced for 25 years at HealthSouth Rehab Hospital. Dr. Godfrey has also served as Medical Director of Caretenders Home Health Agency and Kensington Nursing Home Facility for 30 years.  He also works at Warm Blessings soup kitchen weekly.

Bill is an active member of St. James Catholic Church in Elizabethtown where he serves on the Respect Life and Adoration Committees and is a Eucharistic Minister. For 35 years he has been a U.S. Swim Official, and he founded and still owns the Elizabethtown Swim and Fitness Center. Bill has served as a member of numerous boards and committees, including the Catholic Education Foundation, the Hardin County Community Foundation, the Planned Giving Advisory Board for the Dominican Sisters of St. Cecilia in Nashville, First Citizens Bank, the Archdiocesan Financial Committee, the Dolphin Swim Team, and the WHAS Crusade for Children. Additionally, he is a member of Kentucky Right to Life and the St. Francis Xavier Society.

Bill’s tireless work and community involvement have earned him recognition over the years, including the Salute to Catholic School Alumni Award, induction into Saint Xavier High School’s Alumni Hall of Honors, and the Hardin-Larue Medical Society’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Additional honors include the Dr. Albert Schweitzer Family of the Year Award from the Kentucky Right to Life Association and the Home Care Advocate Award from the Kentucky Home Health Association. Bill was also named the Kentucky Association of Home Care Facilities’ Medical Director of the Year and Hardin County’s Small Business Person of the Year.

Bill and Joyce have been married 50 years, and they are blessed with seven children and 20 grandchildren.  

Roster of Saint Xavier Outstanding Alumni

1967   William J. O'Sullivan '33
1968   Frank J. Beard '57
           Robert H. Nichols '54
1969   Dr. James E. LaFollette '40
1972   William P. Kelly, Sr. '10
1973   George M. Goetz '29
1974   Brother Conrad Callahan, C.F.X. '38
1975   Frank W. Burke '38
1976   Msgr. Raymond J. Treece '30
1977   John B. Voor '42
1978   Cletus A. Ratterman '38
1979   Dr. George F. Dwyer, Jr. '44
1980   Arthur J. Deindoerfer '23
1981   Brother Cornelius E. Hubbuch, Jr., C.F.X. '54
1982   John L. Hoeck '44
1983   Hon. Romano L. Mazzoli '50
1984   Rev. John J. O'Callaghan, S.J. '49
1985   Thomas O. Eifler, Sr. '60
1986   Brother John Heckel, S.V.D. '49
1987   Emil J. Raque, Jr. '53
1988   William T. Heavrin '61
1989   Michael A. Dorris '63
1990   Rev. Clyde F. Crews '62
1991   B. Leo Burmester '62
1992   Eugene C. Ulrich '56
1993   Robert A. Edwards '65
1994   James F. McDonald '58
1995   Bernard A. Crimmins '38
           Michael H. Holland '65
1996   Louis A. "Lew" Miller '35
1997   T. O. "Jack" Hall '49
1998   Paul B. Browne '65
1999   Dr. Orest Hurko '66
2000   Paul R. Charron '60
2001   Brother George Willenbrink, C.F.X. '44
2002   Harry J. Rothgerber '65
2003   Thompson M. Faller, Ph.D. '56
2004   James W. Stuckert '55
2005   Raymond J. Weis '61
2006   C. Eugene Steuerle, Ph.D. '64
2008   Walter D. Gahm, Jr. '63
2009   Joseph P. Viviano '55

2010   Nicholas X. Simon ’77

2011   Thomas A. Musselman, Sr. ’54

2012   Paul C. Varga '81

2013   Robert L. Jones, Jr. '76

2014   Dr. John J. Guarnaschelli '59

2015   W. Kip Viscusi, Ph.D. '67


Louisville Boys Private Catholic High School

1609 Poplar Level Road | Louisville, KY 40217-1359
P 502 637 4712 | F 502 634 2171 |
Contact Us  Privacy Policy  Sitemap 

A Xaverian Brothers Sponsored School

powered by finalsite