School News

National Merit Semifinalists Announced

Seven Saint Xavier seniors have completed the first step toward National Merit Scholar status and hope to join 481 St. X alumni who have earned that distinction since the inception of the National Merit Scholarship Program 67 years ago. These students qualified based on their performance on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).

We congratulate the following seniors: Nathan Donohue, Owen Estes, Bennett Haara, Graham Ice, Lorenzo Martinelli, Weston Metts, and Joseph Ruppe​​​​​​. They will compete against approximately 16,000 other Semifinalists for spots as Finalists, which will be announced in February.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation was established in 1955. The goal of the National Merit Scholarship Program is to identify and honor the nation's scholastic champions and encourage the pursuit of academic excellence. Through this nationwide competition, National Merit Scholarships are awarded to program Finalists, and Special Scholarships are awarded to other high-performing participants who meet one of the corporate sponsor's eligibility criteria.

Pictured (L to R): Front row: Owen Estes, Joseph Ruppe, Nathan Donohue; Back row: Weston Metts, Graham Ice, Lorenzo Martinelli, and Bennett Haara.

Follow the school's social media channels: @StXTigers on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.